Growing Up Skinny

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Lmao, I swear I didn’t know what I just did here.

“Eat more on every meal.” “If only I can just give away all my fats to you.” “Don’t exercise! Can’t you see you’re already thin? What were you thinking?!” “Do you still effin’ eat girl?!” “Don’t worry, you’ll get fat when you’re married.”

Blah, blah, blah..

A lot of people are afraid to be fat and are hurt to be called fat. But what some people don’t know is that those words that I just mentioned earlier? You may think that those words are comforting, funny or you may think that I’m being absurdly audacious but truth is, those words pretty hurt actually. And not just me, I’m talking about every skinny/thin person in this world who might actually happened to experience far more worse than my case, and I admire them for putting in such bravery in dealing with those bad days. For years, I lost count on how many people had asked me if I’m anorexic because in their eyes, I look like I was. At first, I don’t know if I’m going to just take it as a frivolous comment or drown myself into it but it occurred to me that it doesn’t matter because whatever I  do, it hurts. It hurts because they actually judge me for having that kind of disorder when in reality, I have my own reason (though medical-related, it’s not the same as being anorexic). It’s like the bully disguises himself as bullet words that are sensitive enough to kill myself inside.

Growing up skinny is tough. But it also made me realize that everyone’s opinion  doesn’t really matter because at the end of the day, your opinion is what makes you, YOU and that’s what matters. And of course we have to consider that everybody’s opinion might be a warning thought, but you could always take it as a motivation to improve yourself and to be able to grow your own thoughts in a much wider perspective 🙂

Anyhoo, here are some of my legit photographic evidence years ago from my pre-debutante shoot with my pre-debutante skeletons, haha!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

6 thoughts on “Growing Up Skinny

  1. I… kinda had a similar experience actually. Some years ago, I was that bloke who filled the role of “that friend who eats a lot but never gets fat.” Right now, it’s a bit inverted. I lost a lot of pounds in the past few months mainly thanks to yoga. Then people started to tell me stuff like “you’re already losing enough weight so don’t lose any further” and “sobrang laki ng pinayat mo, tama na hoy” and “are you on drugs?”. I don’t get it sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

